But What Would Happen To My Dogs?


My dogs are my anchor.

They put up with my moods.

They insist on hiking the foothills every morning at 5:45.

When I think of suicide one will climb on my lap and lick my hand to remind me that I am loved, as only a dog can love.

In the morning they greet this old woman as if she embodies the sun itself.  They don’t know about a failed life, they see a success.  So I guess I can’t fail them since they never fail me.  If I were to put them at risk by my suicide I would betray that bargain I made with them when I got each as a puppy.  I couldn’t guarantee that I would never die but I could say that it wouldn’t be by my own hand.

Maybe thats why God has put such faithful friends in my life. There names are Billy and Boo.

One thought on “But What Would Happen To My Dogs?

Leave a Reply

